Wednesday, January 07, 2009

40th Annual NAACP Image Awards Nominee Announcement

From the Beverly Hills Hotel NAACP executives and entertainers, Corbin Blue, Nate Parker, Regina Taylor, and KeKe Palmer announced nominees for the 40th Annual NAACP Image Awards yesterday. The highly anticipated show will air LIVE February 12 from the historic Shrine Auditorium. This year's event will mark the organization's 100th anniversary.

As previously announced, now film studio executive, Tyler Perry, and Oscar winner, Halley Berry, will host the star studded event. Receiving special recognition are former Vice President, Al Gore, and Nobel Peace Prize winner, Dr. Wangari Maathai. They will be awarded the NAACP Chairman's Award. And hip hop mogul, Russell Simmons will receive its Vanguard Award.

ABC leads with the most nominations, a surprising 24 of them. CBS follows with 14, and networks CW and NBC tie with 10. Fox has 7 and cable network, HBO, has nine. Tyler Perry's "House of Payne" received six nominations. "Ugly Betty", five. And receiving four nominations each are "Everybody Hates Chris", "The Game", and "Grey's Anatomy."

In the music category, Columbia Records leads with eight nominations, J Records and Arista have six, and Island Def Jam with four. Beyonce leads with 5 nominations. No surprise there! And at the movies, Fox Searchlight has the most nominations, 11 to be exact. Following Searchlight is Sony Music Films/Parkwood pictures with seven and Sony Pictures Classic, Lionsgate, and Columbia have three each. Films, "The Secret Life of Bees" and "Cadillac Records" lead the nominations.

To see a full list of nominees visit the NAACP Image Awards website.

No comments: